Ashtanga Yoga2007. 3.24

The ancient sage Patanjali systematized the practice of yoga in the classic text, The Yoga Sutras.
He described yoga as a process having eight parts(limbs), therefore the system is called Ashtanga(ashta=eight, anga=limb) yoga.
Ashtanga Yoga is a comprehensive system of yoga which combines discipline for the body, breath, mind and spirit.
The eight limbs are:
Yama(moral principles), Niyama(observances), Asana(postures), Pranayama(control of the breath), Pratyahara(sense withdrawal), Dharana(concentration), Dhyana(meditation), Samadhi(self realization).